The Milky Way Project Talk

Is there any way of finding out the accuracy of our ability to recognize desired target objects?

• UncleClover by UncleClover

I'm a very fast learner, but only if there's some sort of feedback going on letting me know what I'm doing right and what I'm doing wrong. Once an image that we notated has been processed by a professional, is there any way for us to look it up and find out how accurate or inaccurate our notations were?

Feedback wouldn't even need to necessarily be an extra step, just having access to your own prior notations and being able to compare them to the "final conclusions" of the professional analysis would be useful. I know I'm not a pro and that this is something I don't necessarily have to be great at or anything, but I would like to be providing the highest signal-to-noise ratio possible via my output. I'm a total geek when it comes to that sort of thing - some find such study dull & boring, but I revel in it. 😉

Posted

• PattyD by PattyD

I understand your frustration. I try very hard to produce as many bubbles as I can find. I think the more mature areas are the hardest because we see the stars that were generated and very little of the dust and gas. What gives me pause is that all the examples have only a few large bubbles indicated and I generally find about a hundred, but if no one else goes to that level of detail, my sightings will never get the required confirmation of 2 other sightings. I don't know how to reconcile the lack of information that we get. On the one hand if I know that 13 people found the same bubbles that I did, then I would feel more comfortable. If my ratio of confirmed bubbles to unconfirmed bubbles is low, then I am off track. Sigh... it's hard to know.

Posted

• masla1 by masla1